Skip to content

New Music Tuesday #17

August 11, 2009

Aaaaahhhhhh…Finally, Welcome to another (super sized) new music Tuesday.

Below are five (instead of the usual three) artists and that I hope you’ll enjoy. A few of them, as you will see, still have future release dates, but that’s ok because It gives you something to look forward to. Yaaaayyy!
Speaking of…I’ve been really excited for this fall as far as music goes because there are A LOT of new LP’s coming out that I have been waiting for (Joshua James, Deas Vail and more) so check back in the future as I hope to get some samples up for you to hear.

To catch you all up on other related affairs,…I’m am still working on my new art project and will post it up as soon as I can. I didn’t want you thinking that I had forgotten.
It’s a series of drawings on wood that I’ve been wanting to do for some time and they seem to be turning out quite well. I love working with wood as a canvas (if you will) but it can be tricky, you have to know just what your going to accomplish in case you make a mistake, as it’s difficult to turn around from a mistake on such a material.

Anywho…let’s get to the music…

Throw me the Statue

This is Seattle, Washington’s Throw me the Statue with their sophomore album “Creaturesque”. I love this album.
TMTS is definitely one of those bands that seems to get better as they grow..as I prefer this album to their 08′ release “Moonbeams”…which is by no means a terrible album by any stretch.
Creaturesque appears to flow seamless from track to track as if each song fits in it’s place perfectly without sounding too similar to the one before it, as well as sounding much more effortless and larger in scope, a difference I think from their first LP.
Have a listen to the track “Waving at the Shore”, I think you’ll like.

Myspace…Throw me the Statue

___________________________________________________________________________________________

mute-math-armistice-album-cover

Here is my alternative-pop addition for this week, it’s grammy nominated MUTEMATH from New Orleans, Louisiana off their future (August 18th) release “Armistice”.
MUTEMATH (you might be interested to know) is fronted by Paul Meany who’s previous audio creation includes Earthsuit, a christian rock outfit that included the music collaboration of Darren King who is also involved in MUTEMATH.
I only mention this as I’m frequently surprised at the christian rock stepping stone that influences many of the bands I find. Not that it’s a bad thing by any means…just surprising, as I’ll admit…I used to have a preconceived notion of what I thought christian rock was (or sounded like). Bad Tom.
Listen to this sample track titled “Lost Year”.

Myspace…MUTEMATH

___________________________________________________________________________________________

William-Fitzsimmons

“The Sparrow and the Crow” by William Fitzsimmons is my new favorite album right now and that is why I have chosen to include 2 tracks for your listening pleasure.
Read this excerpt from William’s Myspace page…

…”William Fitzsimmonsis one of the oddest people you will ever meet. Born the youngest child of two blind parents, William was raised in the outskirts of the steel city of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Due to the family’s inability to communicate through normal visual means, William’s childhood home was filled with a myriad of sounds to replace what eyes could not see. The house was suffused with pianos, guitars, trombones, talking birds, classical records, family sing-a-longs, bedtime stories, and the bellowing of a pipe organ, which his father built into the house with his own hands. When his father’s orchestral records were not resonating through the walls, his mother would educate him on the folk stylings of James Taylor, Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, and Simon & Garfunkel.

I would recommend getting anything you can from this talented artist, simply because…well…it’s all good.
Listen to these…

“After Afterall”

“They’ll Never Take the Good Years”

Myspace…William Fitzsimmons

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Stars of Track and Field

I have been thinking to myself recently…”What happened to Stars of Track and Field?” the great Portland Oregon band who’s name is in reference to the Belle and Sebastian song of the same name found on “If You’re Feeling Sinister”.
Stars first LP “Centuries Before Love and War” came out in August of 06′ and I was beginning to lose hope that they were even still around and then BAM!…they release this new single. Cool.

Check it out. It’s called “Racing Lights” and it’s great. I can’t wait for the full length LP (A Time for Lions) due out September 15th. Tic toc, tic toc.

Myspace…Stars of Track and Field

___________________________________________________________________________________________

David Gray

The UK’s David Gray has been around for some time now, and in these later years I was in fear that he had begun to fade away into history…and now, I’m pleased once again.
If your not familiar with David (then come out from under your rock)…he gained a whole lot of recognition for 1999’s “White Ladder” which (at the time) happened to be his 4th full length LP. Why it took three previous albums before anyone (in America) noticed this extreme talent…is beyond me. His unique raspy vocals and his wonderfully very well written lyrics and music make him a definite heavyweight among singer/songwriters all over the world.

His newest album “Draw the Line” is set to be released in mid September and has the likes of some great guest vocals including Annie Lennox and Jolie Holland (who you might know from a previous post…HERE) included on it, so needless to say, I’m excited.
Here’s his latest single titled “Fugitive”

Myspace…David Gray

Well Folks, That’s it for this week. Come back next week for some more great sounds.

Ciao.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 12, 2009 5:36 am

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!
    Thanks for EVERY song..they’re ALL great!
    I love music Tuesday!!

  2. October 31, 2009 9:12 pm

    Ditto

Leave a Reply

