Skip to content

New Music Tuesday (#16)

July 21, 2009

Welcome to another New Music Tuesday.
After such a long stretch of (hard to find) great music, It seems I have been flooded with too much this week. I actually had a difficult time trying to decide just what to post today after all the great music I’ve found.
I hope you enjoy the selections…

DOMINO_STATE,_The_-_Firefly_320

I love this band…so far. They’re the UK’s newest shoegaze/indie sensation The Domino State and I already can’t wait for their full length release. They don’t sound particularly unique (as far as indie-alternative goes) by any stretch of the imagination, but I’m certainly guilty of loving what they have created so far, which isn’t much it turns out. (inhale)
As much as I’ve scoured the internet, I have only been able to get my hands on the few tracks that they have available so far.
This recommendation is their latest single release “Firefly” which actually comes with two great tracks on it. Have a listen to it’s beautifulness.

(Firefly)

Myspace…The Domino State

Jonsi and Alex

Here’s a great selection for a quiet summer night. It’s Jon Thor Birgisson and Alex Somers…or simply Jonsi and Alex, with they’re beautiful and meditative release “Riceboy Sleeps”.
Jon Thor Birgisson (as you might know) is the lead vocalist behind the (strangely enough) similar sounding Icelandic group Sigur Ros whom I would also recommend if this sound is up your alley.

Riceboy Sleeps alluring sound comprises mostly acoustic instrumental tracks with the collaboration of the string quartet Amiina (who are Sigur Rós’ official string quartet), and the Kópavogsdætur Choir, which make for wonderful (often quiet) sound-scapes, perfect for a warm summers night.
Listen to this sample titled “Boy 1904”.

Website…Jonsi and Alex

Eulogies

Eulogies is an American indie-rock band based in Los Angeles, California. Their album “Here Anonymous” came out in April of this year, though my happy ears just discovered their awesomness this week, and honestly… I love every song on it.
Listen to this song “Two Can Play” and go check out their Myspace for more, I know you’ll love.

Myspace…Eulogies

Come back next week for more great tunes.

Ciao.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

