Skip to content

Disapearing Lake

June 25, 2009

Antelope-lake-bed2

Antelope-lake-bed

Great-Salt-Laker

Antelope-Run8

Every so often I like to head out for a run on Antelope Island, located just off the eastern shore of the Great Salt Lake in Utah. On this visit (last Sunday) I happen to snap a few shots on my camera phone as lame as that is.
I did so because…not only is it like another planet out there (geologically), but I was also surprised at the lakes water level which seemed exceedingly low despite our heavier than normal rain fall for the season, so I felt compelled to snap a few shots of the surrounding terrain.
I’m always amazed at the stark contrast between things that can thrive in the heavy salt environment of the Great Salt Lake (such as certain plants and insects) and the things that simply can’t live at all because of it.
While running along the shores I came upon scores and scores of dead birds and larger animals like…well…Antelope for instance and buffalo who for one reason or another can’t survive on the barren tree-less and salty island that seems riddled with sharp volcanic rock and dry shrubs.

At any rate, I thought I would share a few photos with you. Like I said it’s a camera phone so…well…you know.

Ciao.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cherokeebydesign permalink
    June 25, 2009 3:12 pm

    Beautiful photos, but a sad story.

    Raven
    http://cherokeebydesign.wordpress.com/

    • Thomas Shea permalink*
      June 25, 2009 3:41 pm

      Thank you,
      It is sad. It doesn’t exactly fill one with the happiest of spirits while out trying to enjoy nature, though it’s interesting none-the-less.
      Thanks again for the compliment and comment.

      I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

