Skip to content

New Music Tuesday

February 24, 2009

Well, it’s new music Tuesday and I wanted to throw a quick note out there before I get started…
As I’ve stated before…I don’t listen to the radio much, so if I ever post something that’s being over played by some radio jockey at the station (or stations) of your choosing, then I sincerely apologize.
Yesterday I had chosen a band for this Tuesday’s lineup, jumped in the car and…BAM, there was the song on the radio! So, I just thought I would throw that out there. I hope you enjoy.

Plushgun
plushgun

Here is an indie band that I just stumbled upon today from Brooklyn, New York called “Plushgun” (duh) with their latest release “Pins and Panzers”.
It’s not particularly different sounding from the style I’m used to, but what made me post this particular album was it’s number of great songs. So often I listen to an album with a mere two to three good or reasonably good songs. This album has (so far) six really good ear filling tunes.
Plushgun have a few ep’s from last year under there belt as far as I can tell, though I haven’t had the opportunity to listen to those yet, so they’re a relatively new racket. I hope their future work (here’s hoping)…is just as good.
Here’s a song from the album that seemed to strike the biggest chord with me for some reason called “Just Impolite”.

Myspace…Plushgun.

Fanfarlo
fanfarlo

Next comes from London, UK indie band “Fanfarlo” from their recent release “Reservoir”.
Aside from Simon’s (lead vocals) unmistakably similar sound to David Byrne of Talking Heads, I didn’t know what to say about this great bunch of musicians. So I guess I’ll steal a little from Wikipedia and slap that up.

Utilising instruments such as the trumpet, violin and mandolin as well as more commonplace instruments such as guitars and drums, they produce carefully arranged and infectious pop songs that are both uplifting and beautifully orchestrated.

Here’s a song titled “Drowning Men”

Myspace…Fanfarlo.

The Hundreds and Thousands
the-hundreds-and-thousands

I know very little about this next band “The Hundreds and Thousands”, aside from the simple knowledge that their from Canada and they only have a couple of singles out so far.
This latest single titled “Don’t talk to me” came out just today and after a little time researching the band, very little else was found. I hope the future holds some more great work for this troop.
I DID however really like this tune and decided to post it up. Have a listen, I think you’ll agree.

Myspace…The Hundreds and Thousands.

Asobi Seksu
asobi-seksu

This indie band (in my opinion) just keeps getting better and better. “Asobi Seksu” is a two member creation consisting of Yuki Chikudate (vocals, keyboards) and James Hanna (guitar, vocals).
I came across this band after their previous and very successful release “Citrus” and I’m glad to hear their still going strong. Have a listen to a track from their latest album “Hush” titled “Layers” and tell me if can’t hear a little Cocteau Twins in there.
I like it.

Myspace…Asobi Seksu.

That’s all folks. Thanks for visiting.

Ciao.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

