Skip to content

Dreaming

April 11, 2008

Well, …here it is, I’m finally finished with the new piece. I’ve named it “Dreaming”.
This piece is a hefty 5 ft 7 inches tall and 4 ft in width, which makes the women pictured very near actual size.
It was done using acrylic, pastel and charcoal on top of wood.
After a number of studies on paper… I actually started this piece on a large canvas, only to realize later that the look wasn’t what I wanted. Having worked with wood as a painting surface in the past (see “Journey” in the pastels gallery) gave me the confidence to use it again for this piece. I think it turned out every bit as good as I had hoped. Enjoy.

Ciao all.
-Tom

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2008 4:06 am

    hi tom,
    i`am just listening to http://www.myspace.com/zelmani
    and this picture is just so amaizingly fitting to it..
    i love it!!!
    best regards & a super great time
    fabian

  2. Thomas Shea permalink*
    April 15, 2008 6:46 am

    Hey Fabian,
    Thanks for the kind words. I really like that musical artist you mentioned. Her sound is perfect for the mood I was trying to set in painting it. I think I’ll have to snag that album.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

