Skip to content

Good Music

February 5, 2008

Have a listen to this song. It really goes outside my recent realm of preferred music genre, but…I REALLY like this. The artists name is Jolie Holland. This was a song from the soundtrack of “The King of California”, the song is called “Flood of dreams“. (Thanks Agnes)
I don’t think this particular song comes on any of her albums simply because, well, …I checked. LOL. Though, her last full length album was released in 2006, so maybe she has a new one around the corner.(?) Her voice is beautiful so check it out.

[Audio https://tommyfox.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/09-flood-of-dreams.mp3%5D

16 Comments leave one →
  1. itallstarted permalink
    February 5, 2008 8:27 am

    Beautiful…but what’s it called?!

  2. March 21, 2008 4:42 pm

    Correction on LYRICS:

    Oh how can I stand aside
    and watch all these colors fly
    out of this world and into the next
    my heart is on fire
    and I’m gettin’ reckless oooooo….

    Loard the dream is slippin on
    through my hand’s
    are not made to hold
    this flood of dreams is taking control

    When you were mine
    the sky was so high
    forest were green
    and the stars were bright
    I’ve got the road leading me off
    gravity dissolves

    My home is floating on away
    my dreams take to the road
    as I try to stay afloat
    in this flood
    in this flood of dreams

    Thank You for this. COOL!
    -Tom

    • sabah permalink
      September 21, 2013 2:53 pm

      Oh…
      How can I stand aside
      And watch all these colors fly
      Out of this world and into the next
      My heart is on fire
      And I’m getting reckless, too

      Though the dream is slipping through my hands
      They’re not mine to hold
      This flood of dreams
      Is taking control

      When you were mine
      The sky was so high
      The forests were green
      And the stars were bright
      Now I’ve got the road
      Leading me off
      Gravity dissolves

      Oh, my home is floating away
      My dreams take to the road
      As I try to stay afloat in this flood
      In this flood of dreams

      Oh…
      In this flood
      Oh…

  3. March 25, 2008 7:32 am

    And here are the credits:

    Flood Of Dreams
    Words by Jolie Holland
    Music by David Robbins
    (based on the theme “Charlie’s Lament”)
    Performed by Jolie Holland

  4. Lonnie permalink
    June 23, 2008 1:07 pm

    How can I get that song??? Could you pass it to me – sending it to the email that follows this comment?

    Best Wishes
    Lonnie

  5. July 30, 2008 7:45 pm

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for posting this such a beautiful song. I am really falling in love with her sweet and warm voice…But…
    Despite English is my second language I have noticed a mistake in
    its lyrics.
    I have no doubt ..but I have to admit that I might be wrong.
    Second bridge:
    She says : Lord of the rain is sleeping…El Señor (God) de la lluvia…
    and NOT Loard the dream is sleeping…
    Please, let me know about it.
    Best regards, from
    Santiago, CHILE

  6. July 30, 2008 10:23 pm

    More mistakes:

    Oh how I can stand THE SIGHT
    and not say
    Oh how I can stand aside

    Say:
    into the next TO my heart is on fire
    and I’m getting reckless TOO ooooh

    LORD of the RAIN is sleeping NOW
    And not say sleeping on

    through my hand’s
    Say ….are not MILD to hold
    NOT say : are not made to hold

    Am I wrong?
    That’s all folks!

    JC

    • sabah permalink
      September 21, 2013 2:58 pm

      Oh…
      How can I stand aside
      And watch all these colors fly
      Out of this world and into the next
      My heart is on fire
      And I’m getting reckless, too

      Though the dream is slipping through my hands
      They’re not mine to hold
      This flood of dreams
      Is taking control

      When you were mine
      The sky was so high
      The forests were green
      And the stars were bright
      Now I’ve got the road
      Leading me off
      Gravity dissolves

      Oh, my home is floating away
      My dreams take to the road
      As I try to stay afloat in this flood
      In this flood of dreams

      Oh…
      In this flood
      Oh…

  7. Thurayya permalink
    September 14, 2008 12:50 am

    I have been looking for this song everywhere, it’s like a phantom of a song, so far it’s not on LimeWire, YouTube and I can’t even find the lyrics via Google…I have the same request as Lonnie, do you think you could somehow get it to me through the e-mail address I entered? Thank you!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    July 31, 2009 5:45 pm

    Hi,

    I have posted your website on KPIG.com and everyone loves it!

    When will you be in Santa Cruz, CA?

  9. October 31, 2009 8:50 pm

    Veggie diet is good! Art is good! Music is good!

  10. October 31, 2009 8:53 pm

    Love your website!

  11. Anonymous permalink
    December 8, 2009 1:03 pm

    I first heard this song at the end of the movie “King of California” and instantly fell in love with the dreaming melody and lyric. Such a lovely song.

    You can find the song on youtube.

    Also check out “The Be Good Tanyas” if you like Jolie Holland.

  12. Anonymous permalink
    December 8, 2009 1:04 pm

    I also like “Goodbye California” by Jolie Holland. You can find the live performance on youtube.

  13. Anonymous permalink
    July 24, 2010 10:56 am

    Bad Ass Song thanks for posting

Trackbacks

  1. New Music Tuesday #17 «

Leave a Reply

